Back Seat

Since this fits so perfectly with what my girlfriend submitted yesterday, I couldn’t help but post it now. It’s another poem that, yes, is about us. The difference is that I didn’t tell her I wrote this.

Back Seat

She’s sound asleep
in the back seat of the van
as we drive back home.
The rocks along the side of the road
spit out ice, and the light
reflects and finds your closed eyes.

I imagine the colors
dancing beneath your eyelids;
I imagine us dancing in your dreams
underneath bright lights,
in front of friends and family.

Before you know it,
we’ll be home, and
you’ll come over, where
there’s room for two in my bed.

 

Submit your own work! If you go to my Submissions page, you’ll see that my requirements are practically non existent. Nothing too long so I can give it my fullest attention.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.