One Is All It Takes

I’m just free writing here. It started out as a poem, but I couldn’t stick with the form. Maybe that’s a metaphor for something. Maybe I’m just playing around with the title. Either way, I’ve had so much on my mind, and I’ve wanted nothing more than to be able to free myself from it all. I’m starting to believe that that’s impossible, so I’m going to do the only thing I can do which is to accept the fact that I made mistakes and I’ll continue to make them, but I won’t let them define who I am as a person. I know I can be better, and I want to be better. With that mentality, I’ll only end up better…I hope.

One Is All It Takes

One look is all it takes to take my breath away.
One too many mistakes to make me wish you’d stay.
One too many memories, good and bad, to fill me with regret.
One awkward smile is enough to never forget that
One of anything is all it takes to lose what I’ve always longed for.
One apology too many is all it takes to never be forgiven.
One day, I hope, is all it takes to find the one–
and I hope the one is you.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. govindnr says:

    Neat stuff… I have a little suggestion, hope you take it positively: try to build a rhythm with “all it takes” like how you have in the first two lines. In the penultimate line, I hope, is like a period between the former and following words, you can rework that and then ‘I hope’ will have more strength in the proceeding line.
    I liked the concept. Pretty cool stuff.

    1. Thanks for the suggestion!

      I like the concept too. I wanted to build a rhythm, but got too caught up with getting what was in my head out onto the page. Somewhere down the line I’ll try to revise it. It deserves to be.

Leave a Reply

