For Whom the Bell Tolls

I don’t have a story today, but I do have a quote. I just finished reading For Whom the Bell Tolls and loved it. I started it on Sunday and finished today, about four days–the same amount of time that passed in the book. It was like I became one with the book. Naturally, it broke me at the end, but there were some extremely beautiful moments that I don’t want to ever forget. This quote stood out to me the most. It’s like I have no choice but to share it.

“And another thing. Don’t ever kid yourself about loving some one. It is just that most people are not lucky enough ever to have it. You never had it before and now you have it. What you have with Maria, whether it lasts just through today and a part of tomorrow, or whether it lasts for a long life is the most important thing that can happen to a human being. There will always be people who say it does not exist because they cannot have it. But I tell you it is true and that you have it and that you are lucky even if you die tomorrow.”

It just puts everything into perspective. Lately, things haven’t worked out for me, but the feelings I had for certain people were real. I believed them at the time, and hated myself for it. Now, I see that I was truly lucky to even feel that way to begin with. Having feelings for anyone is a beautiful thing, even how much it hurts afterward. The hurt is just a reminder that those feelings were true, and truth is always what I strive for.

Leave a Reply

