Rain Drops

Saturday was a huge day for me. I did my first Tough Mudder and managed to get through the entire course and complete every obstacle. For those that don’t know, it is a ten-mile obstacle course held all over the United States. The obstacles are absolutely insane, too. Look it up on Youtube. I’ve never been prouder of myself. We’re already thinking about going to Philly in October to race again. The great thing about it, though, is that time doesn’t matter. The only goal is to finish, and finish with your team. Other teams helped us complete the obstacles and we were more than happy to return the favor.
I never imagined myself ever doing something like this. It’s a great feeling accomplishing something you never thought possible. Recently, I’ve felt like a failure for reasons I don’t want to get into–I’m sure you can guess if you’ve been following my blog recently. But no more. I’m more than capable of doing anything as long as I set my mind to it. I’m unbelievably sore and tired and cut up, and I love it. I hope this feeling never goes away.

Photo on 8-16-15 at 9.13 PM

My Headband! I can’t wait to get the green one next.

Now, for a story. This is going to be another prompt: Macro: Write a description of an object close-up.Feel free to do this on your own. I don’t want to be the only person writing stories on my blog. Don’t hesitate to leave a comment. I don’t bite. Mine turned out weird, but I enjoyed writing it. Enjoy.

Rain Drops

Everything is out of focus except for what’s right in front of me. All I see is green and grey, converging. We’re moving very quickly. The direction and destination don’t matter. I can’t even feel myself moving forward. I just know we are, and that’s enough.

A race is taking place where only the viewer is aware the race is actually a race. The winner wins nothing, the viewer placed no bets, so there’s no significance. But I watch, nonetheless. And when someone finishes, there’s another drop ready to take off.

Sometimes, when I look closely enough, I can see my reflection in the drop. I imagine myself as the drop of rain. I imagine the race as a metaphor for my life. I know I’m alive, and there’s a purpose for living, but the enormity of everything around me doesn’t allow me to perceive even the slightest idea of why I’m here. But I keep going on. I look closer and I can see the trees on the side of the road through the drops, tiny, in their own little world, a mini earth on my window. In that drop, another me in a car watching raindrops glide down the window, wondering what else is out there.

The sun comes out, the car stops, the rain drops evaporate. We’re at the house. The clouds are still grey, but the light coming from underneath is yellow. Only the outline of the path the drops took to the bottom is left. I unpack my bags and immediately forget about everything that just happened. Vacation is more exciting. But I know in the back of my mind I’ll see the races again.

Leave a Reply

