Liar

This isn’t the first time something like this happened to me. The first time nearly killed me. I bottled everything up. I didn’t know how to write about it. I didn’t know how to talk about it. But now I do. I know how to move on, and I am. And I couldn’t be happier.

Liar

As time goes on, away from you,
the more I learn, I’m glad we’re through.
I could have sworn that it was me,
but now I see it couldn’t be.

Was never yours, despite your word,
I should have known, it’s just absurd.
To think that you could be the one,
it drove me mad, but now it’s done.

I helped you out, absorbed your pain,
made it mine, made me insane.
But now you’re fine, toss me aside,
Your other guy, won’t know you lied.

It helped to make you feel alive
to beg for love so you can thrive.
Unrequited love’s all you know.
It’s all a show, it makes you glow.

You say it’s you, your life is shit.
I’ll tell you why: you won’t admit
you love to think you’re in control
it fills the void where sat your soul.

But now we’re done, you had your fun.
You’re feeling good, you’re with the one.
I’ll find my own with no regret,
Can you say the same? Can you forget?

Leave a Reply

