What I Live For *Now a Poem

I have some amazing news! I was recently accepted into the writing program at Queens College, so I’ll be on my way to getting my MFA in Creative Writing!! I’ll be starting this fall, and hopefully by then, I’ll be working full time too.

I also read one of my poems at an open mic the other night for the first time. I was one of the last people to go, so it was incredibly hard to get up there after so many extremely talented people got up and read amazing stuff, but I did it anyways. I got a good reception, but I know I can do better, so I will next time.

This post is basically turning an old post into a poem. I wanted to read this one, but I forgot to print it out. Oh well.

I live to see the golden light
Of the sun as it dangles from the sky,
Barely hanging on by a thread, and
Not giving up.

I live for the cool breeze,
Everything at ease, the soft buzz
Of the bees, the dirt on my knees.

I live for a warm embrace,
A loving face upon my chest,
As we lay amongst the queen anne’s lace.

I live for your body against mine,
To feel as if there was no other place
It could belong, our breath in rhythm,
The perfect song.

I live to be the first person
You see in the morning, and
I live for you to be the first I see.

I live for the surprise at sunrise,
On the end of a line, as you leave
Your world, and enter mine.

I live to lose myself in a movie.
I stare as if it’s on, but in my mind,
I’m blind to all around me,
And left with nothing to do but think of you.

I live for days where it looks like rain,
Where the sun stays low below the clouds
Refusing to go away in vain.

Leave a Reply

