What Family Is For

Here’s the story I promised! It’s going to be a quick, flash fiction piece, but hopefully pack a big punch.

 

What Family Is For

It won’t be long until he’s gone. The house will be quieter, and my dad might finally get some sleep. He’s worked hard his entire life and deserves the rest. But how could he, or I, sleep knowing we’ll be missing someone near and dear to us? I’m supposed to feel bad, considering he’s my brother, but I can’t help feeling happy, even though I know he’ll be upset from the moment he walks out the door. And how will he be able to sleep knowing we were so quick to leave him behind? Would he even know?

Probably not…

Leave a Reply

