Out of Time

Hey everyone. I’ve been busy with work and my writing sample and I’ve also been reading constantly, but I finally found some spare time to write for fun. If you’re wondering what I’m reading, I just finished Great Expectations and started The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao. I’m going to use a prompt I found online: Describe 100 years of a character’s life in 10 words. Then describe the last 10 seconds of their life in 100 words. Hope you enjoy.

Out of Time

Time was not on his side, but he didn’t mind.

He never stopped doing what he loved, but his problem was that he never knew what he really loved. People knew they could walk all over him, including his parents, but they did it because they cared, he would tell himself. His mother told him to be a doctor, so he studied to be a doctor. His father told him to find a woman, and he did. He even had a child. This all plays through his mind as he gets closer to the light. Finally, an idea (what makes him happy) started to form, but it was too late.

Leave a Reply

