Hoarder

I’m going to just jump right into this story.I don’t really have much to say. The inspiration obviously comes from hoarders.

 

Hoarder

My family doesn’t know what’s wrong with me. My psychiatrist thinks I hoard for protection from the outside world. I just like to collect things. Everything has some kind of value, so why would I get rid of it?

Well, I’m starting to run out of room in the garage, so I’m going to Ikea to buy shelves. As I walk into the store, I notice that I’m surrounded by things that really could use a new home. I started out with the shelves, but I went back the very next day for a new bed. My bed is fine, but you never know. Now, I’ll have a spare and I could use it to put more of my stuff on.

I went from a new bed to chairs to tables and couches and desks. The pretty large pile of all my valuables grew substantially and it becomes overwhelming, even for me. I look to see if what I could get rid of, but it’s tough to navigate through the mountains of Ikea products. I wonder what the people working there think of me, considering I’ve been going non stop for a month, filling carts with everything I never thought I would need until I bought it.

Nothing is safe in that store, not even the Swedish chocolates and meatballs. I have boxes filled with them both on my bed. I know I’ll eat the meatballs quickly, so I don’t bother with refrigerating them. Plus, there’s no room because the fridge is filled with old beer and rotting food that I forgot about, but didn’t want to get rid of.

As I try to navigate the mounds of what one would call trash, I pull out a chair, not realizing it was holding up the mound. Everything comes crashing down on top of me. Couches and coffee tables and chairs crush my legs, making it impossible for me to move. I don’t think they’re broken, but I know for a fact I’ll never get out. My phone has been lost for years and my neighbors avoid me at all costs because they know I’m a hoarder. I sit and wait for a miracle to come, but I know it never will. There’s nothing left to do except wait. Maybe the smell will be enough for people to finally visit. I won’t be able to see them, but it’ll be worth it.

Leave a Reply

