What’s Going On

I went to a poetry reading out east with my cousin last night. Neither of us read anything, but his band performed a couple songs. I had an amazing time and met some really talented people. My cousin told me these people took it very seriously and were a step up from the types you find at your local coffee shop. It really showed. There was a guy who wrote some amazing stuff. He was wearing a kilt and a button down shirt with a bow tie. His poems were good enough to be published. I hope to go back there with something I wrote.

My story for grad school is coming along really well. I’m about ten pages in and I have another fifteen to go. I finally have a good idea about what I want to write about and it’s actually transferring over really well on paper. I wish I could show you guys what I’m writing, but it’s something I want to work on and hopefully get published in a literary journal or something.

I’m not really sure what to write about today. I’m still reading On the Road, but I’m almost done. At first I wasn’t a big fan of how repetitive it is, even though it perfectly describes the nature of the beats, but now it’s starting to grow on me. The characters are finally starting to develop and I love Kerouac’s writing style. I’ll definitely be sad when it’s finished.

I’m thinking about writing some kind of poetry, but I don’t really want to today. I want to do some kind of hint fiction, but I don’t think you guys are big fans. Either that or I’m just not that good at it. I’m also too tired to write a more thought out story. I hate to disappoint you guys, but you’re going to have to wait until Sunday for a story. I’m going to McSorely’s in the city with a friend tomorrow and I also have to write an article for the blog I contribute to, so I won’t have any time.

I figured it’s been a few days since I’ve posted something, so I’d give you an update on what’s going on and then write something actually worth reading over the weekend, when I’m less tired. Bare with me guys; I didn’t think I’d be so busy.

Leave a Reply

