The Surprise

Today, I’m going to do everything in my power to write you guys something. I’ve been wanting to write a short, one-act play for a while, and I’m in a better writing mood today, so I have no choice but to take advantage of it. It won’t be about any of the World Cup free writing I did yesterday and I won’t use a prompt either.

 

The Surprise

MATT: 16 years old.

GEORGE: 15 years old.

MATT and GEORGE are next door neighbors. It’s MATT’s 16th birthday and they are walking through their neighborhood.

MATT

What exactly are we doing today?

GEORGE

You’ll see.

MATT

What do you mean “You’ll see?” Why can’t you tell me?

GEORGE

It’s a surprise.

MATT

Not anymore.

GEORGE

What? You know? Who told you?

MATT

Told me what?

GEORGE

About the surprise!

MATT

(Takes a deep breath, attempting to collect himself.) No one told me about the surprise. I was surprised when you said there was a surprise.

GEORGE

What?

MATT

That’s why it’s not a surprise anymore.

GEORGE

That’s not what I’m asking though.

MATT

Well, what exactly are you asking me?

GEORGE

I’m not asking you about anything. You’re the one with all the questions. (Beat.) Look, we’re almost here!

MATT

Where?

GEORGE

Can’t tell you ’til we get there.

MATT

Right, ’cause it’s a surprise.

(MATT stops and looks in all directions. Sees nothing but an overgrown, abandoned lot.)

Where are we? I don’t remember ever being over hear.

GEORGE

You don’t know where we are?

MATT

No.

GEORGE

Come on, really? We used to come here all the time! Look closer; at the lot. (MATT looks.) You see?

MATT

No!

GEORGE

You’re not looking hard enough. Think about it, dude. Where are we?

MATT

George, I’m supposed to be eating dinner with my family in like, five minutes. They made lasagna. They never do that; only during the holidays! Just tell me where we are. I have no idea.

GEORGE

Is your dad making it?

MATT

Yup.

GEORGE

Does he still make that paella?

MATT

Why would he stop?

GEORGE

I don’t know.

MATT

George.

GEORGE

Yes?

MATT

Where the fuck are we! We’re not even in our neighborhood!

GEORGE

Dude, this is where we first met! You’re a dick. How could you forget?

MATT

What are you talking about? We met at Larry’s, when he’d have those sleepover parties.

GEORGE

Nah, that doesn’t count.

MATT

How does that not count?

GEORGE

‘Cause we didn’t even know each other. We just knew Larry.

MATT

Yeah, but we had like, the best times at those parties.

GEORGE

True, but I don’t count that. (Beat.) We used to play wiffleball here all the time.

MATT

No! We used to play at Joe’s. He lived right next to the park.

GEORGE

Are you sure?

MATT

Dude, I don’t know what you’re smoking, but it has to be some good shit to think we used to play here.

GEORGE

Fuck you, man. I was just trying to make you feel better. You know, by remembering all the good times we used to have.

MATT

Yeah, that’s cool and all, but like, I know for a fact we’ve never been here once.

GEORGE

Fine, you want to go back?

MATT

Sure. You want to eat over? There’s always leftovers.

GEORGE

Yeah, I’m down.

(GEORGE and MATT turn around and head back. GEORGE trips over an old yellow wiffleball bat. MATT laughs and keeps walking. GEORGE stops and looks and sees what looks like the letter “M” etched in the side. Thinks nothing of it and catches up to MATT.)

End.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

