Sad Songs (Free Verse)

I fall asleep listening to music, like how some people fall asleep with the TV on. It relaxes me ninety nine percent of the time, but on occasion, it will keep me up, bringing back memories (both good and bad), and as of recently, inspire me to write. I enjoy playing around with alliteration, and that was the main purpose of the poem, so the syntax and word choice might seem forced and unnatural. Forgive me.

 

Sad Songs

The sounds of a sad song,

sting the soul,

and slam my chest

with the strength of Samson,

to the point where sticks and stones

seem supreme.

Leave a Reply

